home > member's home > Miscellaneous > Article main > Article on history : [Sainthwar / Saithwar Rajput location and clans]

Sainthwar / Saithwar Rajput location and clans
       ... Posted 2367 Days ago
Monday, July 25, 2011

Author: jaisingh

Sainthwar / Saithwar Sangha people are found in majority at Gorakhpur, Deoria, Maharajganj and Kushinagar districts; while at few places in Basti and Natthupur Pargana of Mau {earlier Azamgadh}districts of UttarPradesh and at some places in western parts of Bihar state of India. They are also scattered in Kapilvastu, Rupandehi, Nawalparasi and Chitwan districts of terai belt of Nepal [1]. Historically these places are known as “Land of Buddha and initial Buddhism” as Buddha was born here, got enlightenment, preached to masses and finally got his Mahaparinirvana in this area. During Buddha period, this land was ruled by ancient republic Kshatriya clans like Malla, Maurya, Shakya, Lichchhavi and Koliya. Lord Buddha was born in Shakya Kshatriya clan in 564 BC and took his Mahaparinirvana at Kusinara, one of the twin capitals of Malla Kshatriya republic.     

Sainthwar Sangha people have generally fair to dark complexion depending on their lineage and ancestoral profession. The main profession is agriculture with many of them holding jamindari in pre-independent India. This community was shown as land-holding community similar to Rajputs / Thakurs in the census of 1911 [2, 10]. The census of 1921 gives the population of Sainthwar community at 123424 [3, 4]. Most of the population of Sainthwar  Rajput community belongs to Suryavanshi and Nagvanshi sects while some to Chandravanshi sects of Kshatriya Varna of Hinduism. Though they claim to be of Kshatriya origin, they do not have social ties with Rajputs / Thakurs of the same area except few cases. They are classified as “sub-caste of Kurmi” in 1994 AD when Allahabad High Court ruled against the petition of “Akhil Bhartiya Kshatriya Mahasabha” and thus were given the benefit of reservation [5]. The interesting part is that no clan of Sainthwar community has any social ties with Kurmis of these areas either. They always considered themselves to be of superior origin than Kurmis. The community is highly endogamous in nature with marriages taking place only between their diffirent clans. The various clans of Sainthwar community as per Dr. Rajbali Pandey, Dr. Raghunath Chand Kaushik, Tripatkacharya Mahopadhyay Bikshu Buddhamitra and Shri Mehtab Narayan Mall ji are –

1.1 Suryavanshi clans  [6,7,8,9].

1.      Malla {Scattered across Kushinagar, Gorakhpur, Deoria, Madhuban in Mau district and western Bihar}

2.      BisenMalla {descendants of Bisen Rajput Raja Madhav Malla of Natthupur pargana of Madhuban}

3.      Rajpalhia

4.      Khuthania

5.      Mahuliyar

6.      Bhiti

7.      Brahajparhia

8.      Bhediha

9.      Bhatparha

10.  Sahajavansh

11.  Danuriha

12.  Pushakar

13.  Magra

14.  Sohar

15.  Kotaria Parmara

16.  Mauli Rathod

17.  Uder

18.  Belharia

19.  Bhangara Sisodia

20.  Thakurai

21.  Harsomant

1.2 Nagvanshi clans [6,7,8,9]

1.      Mahat

2.      Belsadia

3.      Sundila

4.      Das

5.      Bais

6.      Beltharia

7.      Nathania

8.      Bancharaha

9.      Sajania

10.  Rajvalia

11.  Sondih

12.  Parukhia

13.  Nevsaha

14.  Naraijparaha

15.  Madriha

16.  Kaudia

17.  Karkotak

18.  Barvalihia

19.  Asaujiha

20.  Belha

21.  Khagi Chauhan


1.3 Chandravanshi clans [6,7,8,9].

1.      Usakha

2.      Raivansh

3.      Bhakkarvansh

4.      Kaushik-Chautisha

5.      Janwar

6.      Darva or Davi

7.      Motipurwa

8.      Inrapar

9.      Gahanha

10.  Rawat

11.  Wudwaria

12.  Mewati

13.  Gaharwar {The King of Padrauna}

14.  Bhati







1.        1. Joshua Project – Rajput Saithwar of India Ethnic People Profile

2.        2. Apexndix I to Chapter XII - Census Report, United Provinces 1911

3.        3. Table XIII – Caste, Tribe, Race or Nationality – Part I, p 158, Census Report, United Provinces 1921

4.        4. Table XIII – Principal Castes In Each Province, State or Agency – Part II, p 163. Census Report, United Provinces 1921

5.        5. The Observer – HC ruling on OBC quota vindicates Kalyan Stance, June 17, 1998 – Prajnan Bhattacharya

6.      6.   Gorakhpur Janpad aur uski Kshatriya Jatiyon ka Itihas, p 291 – By Dr. Rajbali Pandey

7.        7. Kshatriya Rajvansh – By Dr. Raghunath Chand Kaushik

8.       8. Bhagwan Buddha ke samkalin anuyayi tatha Buddha Kendra, p 272-283 – By Tripatkacharya Mahopadhyay Bikshu Buddhamitra

9.      9.   Bisen Vansh Darpan, p 91,116,117 – By Mehtab Narayan Mall

10.  10.   The caste system of Northern India p 247 – By EAH Blunt


"Be the first member to give your views on this article"
Member Login to reply